It’s the freakin’ weekend

…and I’m not about to have me some fun. 

Ok, that’s a lie.  I’ll probably have fun.  But most of the weekend will be spent addressing those dang invites.  I’m trying to think positively about it, because I don’t want to be resentful (or pissed at myself for volunteering). 

On another note, I had to go to the post office this morning to pick up some stamps for work ($210 and a declined credit card later…) and let me just tell you, the post office regulars are a funny brand of people.  I’m not a frequent visitor to the usps, so I’m not including myself in that group, though I am pretty funny. 

The office didn’t open until 8:30 a.m., but when I got there at 8:21, there were already 7 people waiting in line.  I was shocked.  They all passed me up by at least 30 years in age, and they were all complaining about the post office opening so late.  I mean, this conversation went on for a least 6 minutes.  They were probably all so impatient because they’d already been awake for four hours. 

Anyways, the last few minutes before the lights flickered on and the doors opened were just filled with mindless chatter about the weather, how the neighborhood has changed over all these years, and then complaint after complaint about the absurd gas prices and how their friends’ construction companies are going out of business because they can’t afford to fill up their gas tanks with diesel.  I mean, sure, gas prices absolutely blow, and I would be pissed too if I had to pay $2000 for a tank of gas, but what was most amazing to me was just how all of these strangers just kept talking.  I just stood there and smiled every time one of them would glance over in my direction.  I felt about 6 years old, and I was tired, so I didn’t feel like piping in, especially since I’m new to the neighborhood anyways and I don’t remember anything about the old bowling alley that used to be across the street.  So yeah, it was awesome.  It made my otherwise sucky day so much better. 

2 Responses to “It’s the freakin’ weekend”

  1. Brad Says:

    I miss being a post office regular. And I miss Pooyong. Although, I’m sad I can’t even remember his real name.

  2. boljen Says:

    I think it was Poong. Said “poo-ong.”

Leave a Reply

