Motorized Cart

This story kind of reminds me of the Dumb and Dumber quote when Lloyd is talking with the little old lady on the motorized cart, “Hey, I guess they’re right. Senior citizens, although slow and dangerous behind the wheel, can still serve a purpose. I’ll be right back. Don’t you go dying on me!”

So this morning, Tom and I are talking about something stupid awesome, and he takes a glance out of our office window, totally normal, and starts to respond to something I had said, but then he stops, pauses, makes a completely shocked cover-your-mouth-with-your-hands face, gasps, and then just stares, jaw dropped, at what he had just witnessed.  His reaction clearly piqued my interest so I too looked out the window to check out what just happened.  My eyes were not prepared for what I was about to see.  There was an old man lying on the ground next to his motorized cart!  He couldn’t get up.  Apparently right when Tom looked out the window, he saw this old guy come scooting up the crosswalk down by the dumpsters and loading dock area, and then all of a sudden he hit the curb and toppled over!  Thankfully there were a couple delivery guys there to help him off the ground right away and get him back on his cart.  It was the saddest thing to see.  Even if I would’ve rushed downstairs right away, it’s not like I would’ve been of any help to try and pull this guy off the ground and lift him back up into his cart, he was probably close to 300 lbs.  I mean, I’m strong, but, not that strong.

Anyways, I think he was okay in the end, just a little ruffled, but it was definitely a disturbing sight to see.  I can’t imagine what it was like for Tom to watch the poor guy fall over.  I could barely handle just seeing him lying there helpless on the ground.

So that’s my semi-sad (semi-funny) story of the day.  And by the way, my bee sting has now turned into a full-fledged rash that has taken over almost my entire foot.  Awesome.

One Response to “Motorized Cart”

  1. mom Says:

    Oh my!! Definitely sad, but funny too, I have to admit! Hopefully the man is OK! We need to talk about your bee sting.

    Hugs!
    mom

Leave a Reply

