Cabin Fever

Yesterday after work I decided to take a little drive to the cabin.  Have some good alone time.  You may be thinking, um, doesn’t she live alone and didn’t she just recently post about having more than enough alone time, why would she want more?  Well, regardless of if that’s what you’re thinking or not, I wanted to go to the cabin just for some fresh perspective.  And that’s just what I got (and more). 

Got there in just about an hour (even through traffic, I love it), made a campfire, roasted a couple cheesy brats over the fire, sat on the deck, put my feet up, caught a couple fish (ok, I watched a guy in his boat catch a couple fish), watched the sunset, and just plain relaxed.  It was perfect.

I also brought my Bible and journal along and jotted down some notes of things I have recently been learning, it was really meaningful to put some of those puzzle pieces together into one fluid thought.  Tears actually welled up in my eyes as I was writing, just thinking about how amazing God truly is.  It was a combination of that, and just being at the cabin, one of the most relaxing places on earth (within an hour’s drive at least), watching the sunset, feeling the warmth of the fire on my face, and then coming to this new understanding of how God has been working and continues to work in my life.  It was overwhelming actually.

On the drive home, I had my windows rolled down, tunes cranked to the max, and after the semi-emotional time at the cabin, the tears just started flowing.  I was sobbing so hard at one point, I almost had to pull over on the side of the road because I felt so cloudy-eyed and weepy, I could barely gain composure.  I must’ve needed a good cry I guess, and that it was indeed. 

Fresh perspective, it’s a beautiful thing.  Oh, and so are cheesy brats.  Yum.

2 Responses to “Cabin Fever”

  1. lwayswright Says:

    Sounds like an amazing day. We had a cabin but it is no longer ours…and I miss those times there a lot. I always managed to eek out a little alone time when we were there even if all the kids were a lone. It was so calming. And, I felt much closer to God there. I think nature does that. I feel that same way at the ocean. I would love to be able to find a little place all my own like that. somewhere close by that could be my little hideaway from the world. And yes cheesy brats are yummy…did you have smores too?????

  2. Jenni Says:

    Alone time…Isn’t it true that being alone by default feels so different than choosing to get away alone? Sounds like an amazing time – brats and all.

Leave a Reply

