“It’s So Simple” or is it?

I reread He’s Just Not That Into You last night and, as usual, I feel like a completely new person. I love this book and think that all single ladies (all the single ladies!) should read it. Right now. Go.

One part (that I will share with you all) that especially hit home for me in my present circumstance was in the first chapter. Greg, the coauthor, writes:

IT’S SO SIMPLE
Imagine right now that I’m leaping up and down and shaking my fist at the sky. I’m on my knees pleading with you. I’m saying this in a loud voice: “Please, if you can trust one thing I say in this book, let it be this: When it comes to men, deal with us as we are, not how you’d like us to be.” I know it’s an infuriating concept — that men like to chase and you have to let us chase you. I know. It’s insulting. It’s frustrating. It’s unfortunately the truth. My belief is that if you have to be the aggressor, if you have to pursue, if you have to do the asking out, nine times out of ten, he’s just not that into you. (And we want you to believe you’re one of the nine, ladies!) I can’t say it loud enough: You, the superfox reading this book, are worth asking out.

I’ll write the follow-up by Liz (the other coauthor) in my next edition of JennaB4. Check back for that later today. I’m currently obsessed with this book. (Probably because it stems from SATC.) :)

Leave a Reply

