Timeline of the Brown Sweater

Today I am wearing a brown 3/4-length sweater that I got from Old Navy in the fall of 2005. It’s weird to think I’ve had this sweater for five years. Five years… seems like a long time. But then I think, how much has really happened??

Since I bought this sweater…

  • I had a boyfriend – July 2004-Nov. 2005
  • I broke up with said boyfriend – Nov. 2005
  • I bought my first new car – Nov. 2005
  • I bought a goldfish (Finny) – Feb. 2006
  • I traveled to Arizona – March 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010
  • I got hired full time at Bethel – Nov. 2006
  • I traveled to Florida – November 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009
  • I bought a condo in New Brighton – Feb. 2007
  • I started JennaB4 [and after] – December 2007
  • I started The Jenna Daily – May 2008
  • I traveled to Missouri – May 2008
  • I traveled to Colorado – August 2008
  • I hit a deer with my car – August 2008
  • I got my first speeding ticket (the day after I hit said deer, no joke) – Sept. 2008
  • I attended my Bethel 5-year Reunion – Sept. 2008
  • I enrolled in a class at Bethel Seminary (and promptly dropped it) – Sept-Nov. 2009
  • I traveled to Antigua – Dec. 2008
  • I got a cat (Milo) – Jan. 2009
  • I traveled to Utah – April, Sept. 2009
  • I got my nose pierced – Sept. 2009
  • I attended my Richfield High School 10-year Reunion – Aug. 2009
  • I traveled to Philadelphia & NYC – Oct. 2009
  • I traveled to Chicago – April, July 2010
  • I went on a few first dates
  • I went on even fewer second dates
  • I have had several “ones that got away”
  • I went to approximately 30 million weddings
  • I joined match.com – Jan. 2009
  • I donated a lot of plasma – 2009
  • I [finally!!!!!!] got my own office – April 2010
  • I got my first tattoo – June 2010
  • I paid off my car  – July 2010
  • And many, many more…

So… I guess a lot has happened in the last five years. All these things I just thought of off the top of my head too, so I know I’m missing way more fun and not-so-fun items to add to the list, which makes me think: my life is full. It may not always be exciting or happy, but I am blessed to have a full life. Full with friends and family and infinite blessings. I just have to look harder for those blessings some days, and focus on what’s  truly important.

I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full. – John 10:10

One Response to “Timeline of the Brown Sweater”

  1. Jenni Says:

    I love the time line of the brown sweater! You are my kindred spirit via the blogging world JennaB! I feel like I’m often relating to your posts…although, I have had MANY more traffic violations, probably fewer second dates, and have yet to get a tattoo. You’ve inspired me to write my own “time line” just because wow – what a great way to reflect that, as you said, life might not always be exciting and happy, but it is full.

Leave a Reply

