Lessons Learned at Target

To say that my financial situation in the last couple years has been bleak would be a serious understatement. Money and I haven’t gotten along too well. I’m trying to do better at patching things up between us to prevent some of the impending doom that comes in the middle-to-end of each month by cutting back on my nonessential spending. As the saying goes, that’s much easier said than done.  I know that creating a budget and sticking to it takes great discipline and I’m hoping that the discipline I’m putting into other aspects of my life (e.g., working out) lately will rub off on my finances. It’s a process, and I’m learning.

On the other hand, sometimes when you’re at a store (ahem, Target), a product jumps off the shelves and exclaims, “Jenna!!!! You MUST have meeeeeee! Look at my colors! I’m so pretty!!!! Take me home and I will make you so happy!” and, shoo, there’s nothing I can do but take orders. (Not to worry, I don’t think products on the shelves at Target are actually talking to me.) Last night THIS caught my attention and called to me and there was no way I was going home without it. First, it’s beautiful; second, it was on sale (cheaper than most other shower curtains); third, I’m not necessarily in need of a new shower curtain per se, but mine is desperately in need of a washing, plus, there’s a rip in it from when I first got Milo and he didn’t know he wasn’t supposed to climb the pretty white shower curtain (simple mistake). That was my justification. I know myself, it’s in these instances that I know if I don’t get whatever-it-is that I will just obsessively think about it, and then when I do decide to go and get it, sometimes just hours later, it won’t be there anymore. Not saying this situation would be the end of the world, but still. On a very small (teeny, tiny, minuscule) scale, it’s still a little sad. Plus, shoo, what’s money for if not to spend it frivolously (now and then)?

I must be feeling sassy, two “shoo”s in one post. Good times.

Anyways, long story short, I love my new shower curtain.

 

Leave a Reply

