V-Day

Yesterday was Valentine’s Day and for the first time in 10 years, maybe even first time EVER, I had someone special I could call my Valentine. Granted, in years past — well, just one year, 2005 — I had a boyfriend, but I was in London so it’s not like we could even properly celebrate the holiday together. I’ve always been a fan of Valentine’s Day whether I’ve been in a relationship or not, I just think it’s an extra excuse to tell the people in your life that they’re important and you love them (or just think they’re semi-decent, but you get what I mean). I haven’t been one to get down on V-Day and resent the fact that I am now almost 30 years old and without a husband (even though that’s the one thing I’ve always wanted more than anything). Thankfully I have the best dad in the world and for the last several Valentine’s Days, he has sent flowers to my work. I’m not talking a couple measly carnations, these are beautiful bouquets full of roses, gerbera daisies, tulips, carnations, and other pretty looking things that I don’t know what they are. Here’s a photo of this year’s amazing arrangement:

He’s always so thoughtful and they always brighten up my day. So if I haven’t thanked you enough (not that it will ever be enough for all you’ve done), thank you Dad, you really are the best! I love you!

Anyways, enough of my dad. Onto the good stuff about my REAL Valentine! Kidding… I’m not going to tell any juicy details, but I will tell you that A-Dubs and I had a great time. It was fun to have dinner cooked for me, to enjoy a glass of wine, to watch The Bachelor together, to savor some chocolate covered strawberries, and then watch The Social Network. It wasn’t a big, overdone, fancy night, but it was relaxing and fun, and to have a great new man by my side, it was just about as perfect as I could’ve imagined.

 

2 Responses to “V-Day”

  1. Nathan Marcello Rotunda Says:

    I had a valentine on 1 and 1/2 Valentine’s Days. I actually got dumped in High school on Valentine’s Day. She still somehow thought it was fair to take the necklace I gave her before breaking it off.

  2. Dad Says:

    THANK YOU for being my little girl, the girl I love more than anything. I am the blest one, to be able to celebrate Valentine’s Day with two of the most beautiful and awesome girls in the world. I’m so glad you had a great day.

Leave a Reply

