Thoughts on Turning 30

Today is the last day of my twenties. This morning I tore off the last link of my paper chain. The highly-anticipated 30th birthday is narrowing in on me every second. I think I’m ready for it, ready to say “I’m 30.” I think. Maybe.

One of the blogs I read, Until I Get Married, the author is also turning 30 this week. And I really like what he posted. It was a reminder to look at the positive things that have happened in my 20s, and to know there is much more life to be lived, regardless of 30 sounding “old.” Just thought I’d share his post today, considering much of what he says is similar to how I’m also feeling.

Nothing is really official until 7:32 p.m. EST, but still, the day is here. Today I’m 30.

I don’t have too much to say about it. Like most years, it will be defined by more days than just this one, and what this day means has yet to sink in. I’m very happy to say I’m 30-years-old, because as I keep telling people, the only other option to turning 30 is not turning 30, so I have nothing to complain about it.

But here’s my thing: Everyone I know who is 30+ says it’s so much better than the 20s, to which I say, You all better not be lying to me. With the exception of some unexpected deaths, stints of unemployment, and the occasional relationship drama, my 20s were d*mn good. As a matter of fact, better than d*mn good, they were great, wonderful, and full of life. If the next 10 years are even close to what the last 10 years have been I’ll be a happy man, so when people say they’re actually better, I want to explain to them exactly how good my 20s are and then ask them, “So what you’re saying is, it’s better than that?”

In my lifetime, I have had more good days than bad, laughed more than cried, gained more than lost, and loved more than hated. My 30s don’t have to be better than my 20s, I’d be happy with them being just as good.

But still, the word on the street is, 30s > 20s and it’s not even a contest. Fingers crossed and prayers up that is the case.

Oh and to my family and friends: Thank you. The past 30 years have only been this good because of what you brought to my life.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to thank God for a wonderful life lived, ponder the possibilities of a bright future, and practice ways of saying “I’m 30″ without sounding old.

Here’s to the next decade in my life. May it be what everybody says it’s supposed to be.

–From Until I Get Married

That being said, here’s to a new chapter of life, a new decade, a new set of adventures. Bring it on!

One Response to “Thoughts on Turning 30”

  1. mom Says:

    Wonderful!!! Your words…the bloggers words…I love it!! OH, and I LOVE YOU! :)

Leave a Reply

