Top Ten Wednesday! 10/19 Edition

Dang. I just had a super long post about what I’ve been up to lately and then my browser crashed and I lost everything. Booooo.

Anyways, here’s a my random top ten list of awesomeness (or something).

  1. Modish (one of the blogs I read) posted a new project, 12 things she wants to do before 2012, and I think I’m going to come up with my own list. To be honest, I’ve kinda missed having a list to motivate me to get things done. I’ll post it sometime in the next week or two.
  2. Today (if all goes as planned) will be my third day in a row of going to LA Fitness. Ever since stupid A-Dubs messed things up this spring, I’ve been out of it. It feels good to be getting back into the routine of going to the gym. Hopefully I’ll be able to keep it up.
  3. I realized this weekend that I might to start having to go to bed at like 8 p.m. to get enough sleep at night to be able to wake up in time for work. That will allow me absolutely no social life, but I have to at least try it for awhile. It will also be interesting since I finish up at the gym around 7 p.m. and then I have to eat dinner at some point and take a shower… Good night!
  4. I also realized I think I might have a mild case of OCD. There are certain things I do that are more out of habit/fun than compulsion (I could stop at any time), and you can judge or make fun of me if you want, but I just think they’re just plain smart practices.
  5. First, I have mastered the art of drying my hands after using the restroom at work. Every time I wash my hands I use exactly four paper towel squares (count ’em: “1… 2… 3… 4…”) and then dry my hands for 6 beats (“5… 6… 7… 8… 9… 10”) and voilà, my hands are perfectly dry. No more awkward wet hands, no more using your pant legs, just good ol’ dry hands. (When we used to have the pull-down lever kind several years ago, I would pump to the count of seven, then dry for the count of 15).
  6. The second weird thing that I do is every time I’m about to get out of my car, I turn down the volume to level 9 (max is level 60, so 9 is pretty quiet). It eliminates blasting my ear drums next time I get in the car and/or the possibility that what I was listening to prior was semi-embarrassing (i.e., Justin Bieber) to anyone within earshot. And at least the prior reason is crucial for a HSP.
  7. On that note, I feel like I’ve had a really hard time dealing with being a HSP (highly sensitive person) lately. Reminds me of this post from almost a year ago. I don’t know what to do about it.
  8. I’m contemplating a complete condo redo. A repurpose of the things I already have, I guess. I don’t want to buy anything new (well, I do, I just can’t afford it), I just want to rearrange furniture, repaint (only certain walls), rehang stuff on walls, etc. I still feel antsy and it’s been a whole year. That’s not so good.
  9. Last Friday I sold my old cracked-screen iPhone 4 (that I replaced in July) on craigslist for $140. I posted it for $175 but the guy who bought it came to pick it up plus I didn’t have any of the cords or anything, so I gave him a discount. Either way, I still made $140 that I wouldn’t have made otherwise. Makes me think I need to scour my place for more items to put on craigslist…
  10. I’m in need of a Halloween costume. Any ideas???

Sorry for waiting so long in between posts. Work has finally calmed down to the normal steady pace so I should be able to get back on track for more frequent postings. Thanks for your patience.

Happy Wednesday everyone!

2 Responses to “Top Ten Wednesday! 10/19 Edition”

  1. mom Says:

    HOORAY! You have finally posted a new blog…which I love to read, because I love you!! :) Thought of you yesterday…I ran across a book called the ‘Happiness Project” or something like that. It seemed right up your alley. Kinda reminded me of #1. Anyway, you might want to check it out. Oh, and by the way…I love you! mom

  2. mom Says:

    One more thing..GOOD JOB on getting to LA Fitness 3 days in a row!!

Leave a Reply

