Looking Up from the Bottom

I really hope this is my rock bottom, because I don’t know if I can go any lower.

Some of you know that the last few years have been tough with my brother/family situation, and the last few months have been personally hard with a bad breakup as well as a number of other factors (and not dealing with all my emotions properly). The last few days have been exceptionally hard for me.

Thankfully I can look up and know there is hope. And yes, I know there is great hope in what’s Above.

Last night (after a great conversation with my mom) I was driving home and “Blessings” by Laura Story came on the radio. I’ve heard the song many times before, but for some reason this time God used it to speak to me, and I cried the rest of the way home. Healing does come through tears, and I’m experiencing it firsthand. And I’m so grateful.

3 Responses to “Looking Up from the Bottom”

  1. mom Says:

    You are loved more that I could ever express…mom

  2. liz Says:

    You are wonderful! and beautiful! May you experience the kind of joy and peace that only God can give. You are loved :) Liz

  3. Lacey Says:

    Graham Cooke is one of my favorite speakers and I he has some very important things to say about being in the Wilderness (or rock bottom).

    “My second point is that the Wilderness is a valid place to be for people who are being broken, trained and moulded by God. Many of God’s heroes, big and small, down the ages, have been personally dealt-with by God in the Wilderness. And I believe that many of those whom God has been preparing to have a part in His new move have been taken through the Wilderness by God in our day. The Wilderness is not the answer in itself. It is a waypoint. If you get stuck in the Wilderness, like the children of Israel did, you are in trouble. If you like the look of the Wilderness more than the Promised Land, you are in big trouble. The Wilderness swallowed most of the children of Israel whole. They did not use it as preparation, like they were supposed to. They went to the place of testing and failed the test. But historically, the Wilderness has been a very important place of brokenness and training, where God has prepared men and women before using them in some way (Andrew Strom).”

    I believe that sometimes God brings us to a place where he needs us to be so we can truly hear him. During my times in the Wilderness (or rock bottom), I would continuously ask God, “What are you trying to teach me? I’m open to what you want me to learn.” He taught me things I am sure I would have not learned having not been in the Wilderness. I have faith he will do the same for you.

    Lots of love <3

Leave a Reply

