What is happening?

I MADE TURKEY BACON THIS MORNING. I don’t cook, let alone something with actual nutritional benefit, and especially not before 10 a.m. And this is what I ate for lunch today:

img_2331

Iceberg lettuce, muenster, tomato, turkey bacon

Seriously, what is happening?

Well, it turns out feeling like crap for years will finally make this old dog learn new tricks. As of today, I’m making an intentional decision to change my eating habits. I’ll be most closely following the ketogenic diet (high fat, adequate protein, low carb), but to be honest, any move in a direction other than where I was going will be considered a success. I’m hoping to get back to a regular exercise routine as well, but I’m working on baby steps right now. (Thank you, Dr. Leo Marvin.)

And though I believe mental illness is most definitely real (I’ve struggled with depression and anxiety for almost ten years), I also believe I wasn’t properly fueling my body and I’m looking forward to seeing how this change affects not only my physical body but, maybe even more so, my emotional/mental state.

Anyway, I’m excited and felt like an over-promised blog post was the best place to start. :)

 

One Response to “What is happening?”

  1. Betsy Says:

    Fantastic! Way to go! You can do it!

Leave a Reply

